User Login

Document path Reference Contents > General Program Functions > User Login

User Login

The User login window is used to log in to, or quit from, the program. The datafile for the log in can also be changed from here. The window is opened each time the program is run, and can also be accessed while logged in to the program by selecting File -- Login as Different User.

Field

Description

User ID

Enter your transaction ID in full. You must have a valid Transaction ID entered by the system manager to be able to enter the program.

User name

Your user name that will show after tabbing out of the User ID field.

Password

Enter your Password, if any. Passwords are case sensitive and each character is echoed to the screen as blobs to avoid spying eyes. Only when you have entered a valid ID with the appropriate Password will you be able to enter the program.

Tip TIP: The user may be given a password expiry period. An Option optPasswordWarn can be used to change the default of 15 days warning that the password is due to expire.

Button Functions

Button

Action

Login

Logs in to the program following entry of a valid user ID and password.

Quit

Exits the program.

Change Datafile

Opens an file requester to search for and select a different datafile. For details on datafile access see the Data Files and the Omnis Data Bridge topic.

Operation

To change the datafile for the log in, first click Change Datafile and use the file requester to find and select the target datafile, then log in as below.

To log in to the program enter a user ID in the first data entry box, then tab (or click) into the second data entry box. If the user ID is valid the data display box below the data entry boxes will now display the user name. Enter the appropriate password (case sensitive) in the second data entry box and either press the return key or click Login to log in to the program.

To use the window to exit the program, first select File -- Login as Different User, then click Quit.

Window Positions and List Configurations

While a user works with windows during a session they are generally free to move windows arround the desktop and re-size them to their convenience. This is extreemly useful when using multiple windows interactively - drag-and-drop, concurrently viewing different data sets, for example.

Also, in almost all cases, the user is free to sort headed lists on windows by clicking on the heading of the column of data they want to sort by. Users are also free to re-size list columns and even hide columns they do not want to see.

When a window is closed all of these settings for the window are recorded in the program so that the next time the window opens these settings are re-applied to the window and lists on it. The term 'program' used here is not strictly true. Most window details are stored in the Vision.lbs (Caliach Vision on Mac) that the user is running, and so is generally specific to a particular installation of Caliach Vision. If different users log in to the same machine they will all see the same window setting that the previous user left. However, there are some special windows where the settings are specifically held on the datafile against the User. These special windows include the Navigator and the 4 ScratchPads.

Tip TIP: The above general rule can be overruled by a system-level option optUserStoreWinSet: Set to 1 if you want window position/size and list configurations stored in the user settings, and re-read when user logs in. Usefull for server-loaded running Vision, such as some Mac server configurations. With some Macintosh Server configurations, when a user logs onto the server their operating program files are automatically downloaded from the server and then executed from the local machine. So every morning a user will typically run from the clean copy of Caliach Vision saved on the server. This makes system management much easier but it means that any personalisation of windows and lists made by users during the day will be wiped out each evening. If this option is set, there is a marginal additional saving process when logging off, but the users personalisation will be retained.

Note NOTE: This data can become damaged or at least obsolete, for instance on major upgrades. If such circumstances arise, you can turn off this option, have all users log on, which re-sets the settings to the default, then later switch the option back on, returning the feature to store settings on the datafile.

Compiled in Program Version 3.10. Help data last modified 29 SEP 2010 05:36. Class wInitials last modified 10 MAR 2012 02:36:36.

Document path Reference Contents > General Program Functions > User Login